Skip navigation

Beard Foundation announces award nominees

NEW YORK Anthos in New York, Central Michel Richard in Washington, D.C., Fearing’s at the Ritz-Carlton in Dallas, Osteria Mozza in Los Angeles and Osteria in Philadelphia have been nominated by the James Beard Foundation for the group’s Best New Restaurant award.

Nominees for the Rising Star Chef of the Year Award, which honors individuals 30 years old or younger, are Nate Appleman of A 16 in San Francisco; Sean Brock of McCrady’s in Charleston, S.C.; Gavin Kaysen of Cafe Boulud in New York; Johnny Monis of Komi in Washington, D.C.; Matt Molina of Osteria Mozza in Los Angeles; and Gabriel Rucker of Le Pigeon in Portland, Ore.

Nominees for outstanding chef are Grant Achatz of Alinea in Chicago, Jose Andres of Minibar in Washington, D.C., Dan Barber of Blue Hill in New York, Suzanne Goin of Lucques in Los Angeles and Frank Stitt of Highlands Bar & Grill in Birmingham, Ala.

Outstanding restaurant nominees are Boulevard and The Slanted Door in San Francisco, Gramercy Tavern and Jean Georges in New York, and Campanile in Los Angeles.

Outstanding pastry chef nominees are Gina DePalma of Babbo Ristorante e Enoteca in New York, Pichet Ong of P*ONG in New York, Elisabeth Prueitt and Chad Robertson of Tartine Bakery in San Francisco, Mindy Segal of HotChocolate in Chicago and Nicole Plue of Redd in Yountville, Calif.

Nominated for outstanding wine service are Aureole and Picasso in Las Vegas, Bin 36 in Chicago, Eleven Madison Park in New York and Blackberry Farm in Walland, Tenn.

Outstanding restaurateur nominees are the team of Joe Bastianich and Mario Batali in New York, Tom Douglas in Seattle, Richard Melman in Chicago, Wolfgang Puck in Los Angeles and Jean-Georges Vongerichten in New York.

Nominees for outstanding restaurant design are all for New York City projects: Giuliano Fiorenzoli Architects/Moss for Centovini, the Rockwell Group for Adour Alain Ducasse at the St. Regis New York, and Tadao Ando Architect and Associates for Morimoto.

Mucca Design was nominated for two projects in the outstanding restaurant graphics category — La Condesa in Dallas and Presidio Social Club in San Francisco. Also nominated in that category are Popgun Design for Tres Agaves in San Francisco and Robert Louey Design for Sepia in Chicago.

Nominees for outstanding wine and spirits professional are Dale DeGroff of Beverage Alcohol Resource in New York; Merry Edwards of Merry Edwards Wines in Sebastopol, Calif.; David Lett of The Eyrie Vineyards in McMinnville, Ore.; Bobby Stuckey of Frasca Food and Wine in Boulder, Colo.; and Terry Theise of Terry Theise Estate Selections in Silver Spring, Md.

Restaurants nominated for the outstanding service award are La Grenouille in New York, Canlis in Seattle, Spiaggia in Chicago, Vetri in Philadelphia and Terra in St. Helena, Calif.

The regional nominees are:

Pacific, including California and Hawaii: Douglas Keane of Cyrus in Healdsburg, Calif.; David Kinch of Manresa in Los Gatos, Calif.; David Myers of Sona in Los Angeles; Craig Stoll of Delfina in San Francisco and Michael Tusk of Quince in San Francisco.

Mid-Atlantic, including Washington, D.C., Delaware, Maryland, New Jersey, Pennsylvania and Virginia: Cathal Armstong of Restaurant Eve in Alexandria, Va., Jose Garces of Amada in Philadelphia, Maricel Presilla of Cucharamama in Hoboken, N.J.; Cindy Wolf of Charleston in Baltimore and Eric Ziebold of CityZen in Washington, D.C.

Midwest, including Iowa, Kansas, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota and Wisconsin: Isaac Becker of 112 Eatery in Minneapolis, Colby Garrelts of Bluestem in Kansas City, Tim McKee of La Belle Vie in Minneapolis, Alex Roberts of Restaurant Alma in Minneapolis and Adam Siegal of Bartolotta’s Lake Park Bistro in Milwaukee.

Great Lakes, including Illinois, Indiana, Michigan and Ohio: Graham Elliot Bowles of Avenues, Carrie Nahabedian of Naha and Bruce Sherman of North Pond, all in Chicago; Michael Symon of Lola in Cleveland; and Alex Young of Zingerman’s Roadhouse in Ann Arbor, Mich.

New York City: Michael Anthony of Gramercy Tavern, Terrance Brennan of Picholine, David Chang of the Momofuku restaurants, Wylie Dufresne of WD-50 and Gabriel Kreuther of The Modern.

Northeast, including Connecticut, Massachusetts, Maine, New Hampshire, New York excluding New York City, Rhode Island and Vermont: Patrick Connolly of Radius in Boston; Rob Evans of Hugo’s in Portland, Maine; Clark Frasier and Mark Gaier of Arrows in Ogunquit, Maine; Michael Leviton of Lumire in West Newton, Mass.; and Marc Orfaly of Pigalle in Boston.

Northwest, including Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Washington and Wyoming: Scott Dolich of Park Kitchen in Portland, Ore.; Maria Hines of Tilth in Seattle; Holly Smith of CafŽ Juanita in Kirkland, Wash.; Ethan Stowell of Union in Seattle; and Jason Wilson of Crush in Seattle.

Southeast, including George, Kentucky, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee and West Virginia: Hugh Acheson of Five and Ten in Athens, Ga.; Arnaud Berthelier of The Dining Room at The Ritz-Carlton Buckhead in Atlanta; Linton Hopkins of Restaurant Eugene in Atlanta; Mike Lata of Fig in Charleston, S.C.; and Robert Stehling of Hominy Grill in Charleston, S.C.

Southwest, including Arizona, Colorado, New Mexico, Nevada, Oklahoma, Texas and Utah: Saipin Chutima of Lotus of Siam in Las Vegas; Sharon Hage of York Street in Dallas; Ryan Hardy of Montagna in Aspen, Colo.; Lachlan Mackinnon-Patterson of Frasca Food and Wine in Boulder, Colo.; and Andrew Weissman of Restaurant La Rve in San Antonio, Texas.

South, including Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Louisiana and Mississippi: Zach Bell of CafŽ Boulud in Palm Beach, Fla.; Michelle Bernstein of Michy’s in Miami; John Currence of City Grocery in Oxford, Miss.; Chris Hastings of Hot and Hot Fish Club in Birmingham, Ala.; and Douglas Rodriguez of Ola in Miami.

The winners in each category will be announced on June 8 at Avery Fisher Hall of Lincoln Center in New York.

The James Beard Foundation also announced that it had launched a website for the awards,

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.