Skip navigation

IFMA names 2011 Silver Plate winners

BJ’s and Jason’s Deli CEOs among honorees

The International Foodservice Manufacturers Association named on Monday the 2011 winners of its Silver Plate Awards, which honor restaurant executives for career achievements and innovation.

The winners are selected by a jury of editors from the industry trade press, including Nation’s Restaurant News, and the chairman of the International Gold & Silver Plate Society.

A Gold Plate winner selected from among the nine Silver Plate recipients will be announced May 23 during the National Restaurant Association’s International Restaurant Hotel/Motel Show in Chicago.

This year’s Silver Plate winners:

Independent restaurants: Buzz Beler, owner of The Prime Rib in Washington, D.C.

Chain full service: Jerry Deitchle, chairman, president and chief executive of BJ’s Restaurants, based in Huntington Beach, Calif.

Chain fast service: Joe Tortorice, founder and chief executive of Jason’s Deli Management, based in Beaumont, Texas.

Elementary and secondary schools: Lora Gilbert, senior director for food and nutrition services of Orange County Public Schools in Orlando, Fla.

Colleges and universities: Dee Hardy, associate vice president of campus services at the University of Richmond in Richmond, Va.

Specialty foodservices: George Miller, chief of food and beverage operations for the U.S. Air Force, based at Lackland Air Force Base in Texas.

Hotels and lodging: C.W. Craig Reed, director of food and beverage at The Broadmoor hotel in Colorado Springs, Colo.

Foodservice management: Steve Sweeney, president and chief executive of Chartwells, based in Rye Brook, N.Y.

Health care: Bruce Thomas, associate vice president of guest services at Geisinger Health Systems in Danville, Pa.

Contact Bret Thorn at [email protected].

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.