Skip navigation
NRA logo

NRA, education foundation elect new officers

The National Restaurant Association and the NRA’s Educational Foundation have elected new officers to their board of directors and board of trustees, respectively, the organizations said Friday.

“The National Restaurant Association board of directors and the National Restaurant Association Educational Foundation board of trustees include dynamic leaders from across the foodservice industry, all of whom play key roles and provide strategic guidance as we work to help our members continue to build successful businesses and positively impact the communities they serve,” NRA president and chief executive Dawn Sweeney said in a statement.

This year our boards are fortunate to be led by Phil Hickey and Denise Marie Fugo, industry veterans who bring tremendous experience and insight to their leadership positions as the industry faces unique challenges and an uncertain economic outlook.”

The NRA named Philip J. Hickey, Jr., chief executive of Jocks II Inc., in Atlanta, as its board chair. Previously, Hickey served as chairman and chief executive of two multibrand companies, RARE Hospitality International in Atlanta and O’Charley’s Inc., in Nashville, Tenn.

In addition, the Washington, D.C.-based association elected Marshall L. “Ken” Conrad, chairman of Libby Hill Seafood Restaurants Inc. in Greensboro, N.C., as vice chair; and Jack Crawford, president and chief executive of Ground Round Independent Owners Cooperative LLC in Freeport, Maine, as treasurer.

Denise Marie Fugo, chairman and chief executive of Sammy’s in Cleveland, was named to the post of chair for the NRA’s Educational Foundation board of trustees. In 2000 she served as chair of the NRA’s board of directors.

In addition, the NRAEF elected Michael Gibbons, who is president and chief executive of Mainstreet Ventures Inc. in Ann Arbor, Mich., as vice chair. Gibbons was chairman of the NRA board in 2009-2010, and is former president of the Michigan Restaurant Association.

All officials will serve a one-year term.

Contact Paul Frumkin at [email protected].
Follow him on Twitter: @NRNPaul

TAGS: People
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.