SHFM Awards Recognize Excellence in Industry

The NRN editorial department was not involved in the creation of this content.

The Society for Hospitality & Foodservice Management (SHFM), the pre-eminent national association serving the needs and interests of executives in the corporate foodservice and workplace hospitality industries, is pleased to announce its 2017 Directors’ Awards winners. Each award recognizes special honorees that have gone “above and beyond” to serve the association and better the industry. The recipients of the President’s Award and Pacifico Award will be announced at the 2017 National Conference, October 24-26 at The Diplomat Beach Resort.

The 2017 Directors’ Awards winners include the following:

Community Service Award: Carolyn Milea. Given to the SHFM Member that has gone above and beyond to help support the corporate foodservice and workplace hospitality industry, as well as their local community.

Spirit Award: Karen DiPeri, President at HMG+. Presented to an individual who consistently demonstrates the qualities of loyalty, dedication, and enthusiasm for the Society.

Leadership Award: Heather Leanna, Senior Facilities Officer, Hospitality & Meeting Services at International Monetary Fund. Recognizing an individual whose work on behalf of SHFM and the corporate foodservice and workplace hospitality industry has resulted in the demonstration of outstanding leadership qualities.

Richard Ysmael Distinguished Service Award: Russ Benson, Senior Associate at Innovative Hospitality Solutions. Given in memory of Richard Ysmael and reflects how he lived and delivered his philosophy of life in the best and most challenging moments of his career and personal life. Richard was a founding member of the Society, and his dedication, leadership, and integrity throughout his career continue to inspire not only the Society’s membership but foodservice professionals in all facets of our industry. This Award recognizes an individual who has been diligent in service to corporate foodservice and workplace hospitality and who has consistently demonstrated the ideals of dedication, integrity, professionalism and leadership to the Society and to which Richard aspired.

Lifetime Achievement Award: Mark Bickford, CEO, Corporate Services, North America at Sodexo. Recognizing a lifetime of contributions and service to the corporate foodservice and workplace hospitality industry.

SHFM President Holly Von Seggern said of the awards, “The SHFM Board of Directors is very pleased to announce the recipients of our 2017 SHFM Directors’ Awards. Each individual represents what is so special about our Society. Our members are like family who contribute to the betterment of our industry in truly unique and special ways; it is a privilege to recognize their amazing contributions.”

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.