NRN announces MUFSO 2007 award winners

LOS ANGELES Nation's Restaurant News has named five multi-unit restaurant operators plus the leader of a hospitality management firm as its 2007 Golden Chain award winners. In addition, the news medium has selected James. H. Maynard, chairman and co-founder of the Golden Corral restaurant chain, as its Pioneer Award winner, honoring a career of dedication and contributions to the foodservice industry. The Innovator Award recipient is Gerald Fernandez, president and founder of the Multicultural Foodservice & Hospitality Alliance. He is being honored for his work in accelerating the pace of employment diversity within the industry.


These executives will be honored at the 48th Annual Multi-Unit Foodservice Operators Conference, or MUFSO, to be held here on September 30 through October 3. The Golden Chain award is one of the industry's most prestigious honors. It celebrates the individual's recent achievements and career accomplishments.



The six 2007 Golden Chain winners are: Paul Clayton, chief executive officer, Jamba Juice; Gerard T. Gabrys, president and CEO, Guest Services, Inc.; Linda A. Lang, chairman and CEO, Jack in the Box Inc.; Zach McLeroy, chairman and CEO, Zaxby's Chicken Restaurants; Craig S. Miller, chairman, president and CEO, Ruth's Chris Steakhouse, Inc.; and Nick Vojnovic, president, Beef 'O' Brady's.



During MUFSO, one of these Golden Chain winners will be announced as the Operator of the Year based on voting results from operator readers of NRN.